ON THE ROAD WITHOUT MONEY

Hitchhiking has always been part of my travels. It’s challenging, fun and exciting but sometimes also exhausting, tedious and intense. Before I decided to go on this 30 days hitchhiking mission I hitchhiked through Vietnam, Laos and Thailand. Sometimes though I was lazy and needed some comfort so every now and then I took the bus. This time I wanted to go further and see if I can push myself out of my comfort zone. At the same time, I was curious about how far I can actually go without using a single coin of money. Sounds scary? Continue reading to see how beneficial and life changing it was and get some useful tips about hitchhiking!

P1010693

 

01.04.2017

Fighting the weather god

Today I woke up like every day lying in my bed in Otres listening to a bird knocking on my ceiling window. I looked up, saw the leaves of the tree waving in the wind and knew I was ready to leave and go on a new adventure. I was on a mission – 2109 kilometres from Otres Village (Cambodia) to Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia) – and wanted to get going. So I got up, blew my whistle to wake up my hitchhiking companion Eric and started to pack. Once we took down our tent I pulled out my hitchhiking marker and made a sign saying Koh Kong in Khmer language. After our goodbye to my beloved friend and sister Ali we were ready to roll and started walking towards the main road as it suddenly began pouring down with rain. We were bummed! Cambodian weather can be tough! When this crazy monsoon finally ended, it was already getting dark so we decided to stay one more night and agreed on starting early the next day. I guess the weather god was playing a joke on us – it was the 1st of April!

 

02.04.2017

Getting started – OTRES (CAMBODIA) TO BANGKOK (THAILAND)

 

08.04.17

Raindrops keep falling on my head – BANGKOK (THAILAND) – SURAT THANI (THAILAND)

 


Leave a Reply

